New Year’s Eve

The last 2.5 weeks have been strange. I realize I miss the academic calendar insofar as its end is a brilliant way to recognize that Christmas Is Coming.  Without it, we sort of slip into the holidays without that lovely delightful threshold. Via Facebook and Twitter, I saw my friends grading papers, administering exams, and submitting grades, and missed this routine that is important for wrapping up the term but also as an indication it’s time to return to family life, bake some cookies, decorate the tree, etc.  I sort of missed that obvious break, maybe because, after so many tough weeks of a normal semester, hitting the SUBMIT GRADES button sort of signals that it’s time to relax a little and indulge in happy holiday stuff.  So, sabbatical is weird that way.  I wish I had set up a stronger ritual of conclusion for myself to take the place of the other one.  Will do so this spring, so I know when summer really starts–not that we’ll be heading to our non-existent lake house or something. But somehow it seems important.

Sabbatical is great, but I do miss the routine.  Not sure if that’s because the routine is so great, or if after 15 years it’s just so deeply ingrained that I don’t know what to do without it.

Leave a Reply

