The Light at the End of the Tunnel

Last week was a good week: I spent all five days in front of the screen and came super close to finishing a full draft of all thirty chapters.  But those last chapters are, for several reasons, pretty challenging, and I had to give up a little short of my goal.  We took a brief family road trip  that I was worried would interrupt my momentum and, I guess, while it did, it also left me refreshed as I start this week.  That’s an especially good thing since in these last chapters my architect experiences a lot of turmoil.  My book does not have a very happy ending.  It’s hard to write, just in terms of working out the narrative, but also because it is, like that other chapter on the Civil War that I wrote about earlier, emotionally draining.

But here at 8:30 on Monday morning, after wading through emails that have piled up, walking the dog and consuming a strawberry smoothie, I am ready to go.  I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, and know, like the nifty GIF above, that it just leads to another tunnel, but that’s OK.  Apt metaphor for sabbatical overall, I reckon.

Source for the GIF

Tagged

Leave a Reply

